Curiosity Corner

Model #: CptFux-PDF
Manufacturer: Alexander Publishing

Customers who purchased this item also purchased these items:


The Instant Composer: Counterpoint by Fux - PDF

Add To Cart Button
List Price $34.95
Your Price $19.95
You Save $15.00

Multi-Product Checkout Page Button

About Johann Joseph Fux

What’s an Instant Composer? A songwriter or composer who can create music on demand without breaking a sweat. And you can learn those starting techniques in The Instant Composer: Counterpoint by Fux PDF eBook. For those who want more, we also offer for separate purchase The Instant Composer: Counterpoint by Fux Home Study Course, available in a Lite Edition (course only - for those who already own the Fux book) or a Complete Edition which includes both the Counterpoint by Fux PDF eBook along with 14 PDF lessons and approx. 2 hours of supporting video lectures.

Counterpoint by Fux was originally published at the expense of the royal crown in 1725 as Gradus ad Parnassum (Latin for Steps to Parnassus) by Johann Joseph Fux, court composer for three Hapsburg emperors in Austria. In Greek mythology, Mt. Parnassus was the highest point of a mountain range in central Greece, home to Apollo and the Nine Muses who mythically inspired the arts. The end result of going through all of Fux's steps was training that would take your skill to the mountaintops.

With Gradus ad Parnassum, Johann Joseph Fux created a self-directed method for the young person wanting to learn music, but who couldn't afford music lessons. Compositionally, Fux's training goal was to teach the student how to write in each mode. He accomplished this instruction by giving examples in each mode along with specific cadential endings. By the end of three-part counterpoint, you’ve actually learned to reharmonize in each mode.

With modes (chord scales) matched to specific chord positions (dorian on ii minor, etc.), we now discover that Fux in 1725 set forth the "modern" chord scale approach to composition.

It's from these cadential ending studies and the use of the raised leading tone that leads you to an intuitive approach to understanding secondary dominants (which Schoenberg observed in his Structural Functions of Harmony).

About the Alexander Edition of Counterpoint By Fux
In 1742, just a year after Fux's death, Lorenz Mizler, a student of Bach, translated the original from Latin into German directly under the eye of Bach, so stated Bach biographer Phillip Spitta.

This Alexander edition was created from a new translation commissioned in 1990 of the 1745 Mizler edition. Revised by Peter Lawrence Alexander, this edition is a modern, easy-to-read English translation with an all new layout and re-engraved music examples. It moves in a direction different from that of Alfred Mann’s 1965 translation.

In keeping with the spirit of Fux for providing basic instruction, the first section of this book adds a Music Basics section written by Peter Lawrence Alexander, which is a condensed version of the first 23 chapters of Peter’s book Applied Professional Harmony 101. For those who have limited music theory knowledge, this section will take you through the basics of reading music notation by covering note values, scales, chords, key and time signatures, modes, etc., so you have a good grounding for studying Fux's method.

Instead of being a direct translation of Fux's work, Fux’s guidelines have been outlined in a simple, step-by-step, easy-to-read approach that teaches you compositional techniques that you apply in each mode: Dorian, Phrygian, Lydian, Mixolydian, Aeolian, and Ionian. By the time you’ve gone through three-part counterpoint, you’ve learned how to reharmonize in each of these modes!

In this present edition, you’re given a clear didactic approach based on Fux's modal examples. The book also contains pieces to study after a majority of the lessons. Everything you need is in this one volume.

How to Study
When applied to songwriting, Fux gives you guidelines for crafting out melodies that are still used in today’s pop music.

You’re encouraged to both write and record your homework with vocal samples. Later, you can go back and record them with solo strings and sectional strings, thus helping to build your string writing techniques, too.

Each mode presents its own set of writing challenges (especially Phrygian!) that appear even in music today.

So don’t wait! Get The Instant Composer and start building your chops today!

561 pgs.

Download Info:

  • Your download file(s) will be available for 30 days after purchase.
  • x1 .zip file containing your PDF book.
  • approx. 42MB size.

  • Summary Table of Contents

    Lesson 1 - The Value of Reading Music Notation
    Lesson 2 - Note Value
    Lesson 3 - Pitch and Note Value (Clefs)
    Lesson 4 - Intervals
    Lesson 5 - Linear Intervals
    Lesson 6 - Vertical Intervals
    Lesson 7 - Where Chords Come From
    Lesson 8 - Rhythm and Time Signatures
    Lesson 9 - Modes
    Lesson 10 - The Major Scale
    Lesson 11 - Major Scale Keys and Key Signatures
    Lesson 12 - Chords In the Major Scale
    Lesson 13 - Chords and Chord Scales
    Lesson 14 - Three Minor Scales and How They Grew
    Lesson 15 - Chords In The Minor Key
    Lesson 16 - The Mystery Scale
    Lesson 17 - Other Names for Notes
    Lesson 18 - Ground Rules for Creating Melodies
    Lesson 19 - Technique #1: Tutti Writing
    Lesson 20 - Technique #2: Two Voices Against One.
    Lesson 21 - Triplets and ¾ Time
    Lesson 22 - Technique #3: 4 Notes Against 1
    Lesson 23 - Technique #4: Syncopation and Suspensions
    Lesson 24 - Technique #5: The Whole Pie
    Lesson 25 - Overview and Use
    Lesson 26 - Technique #6: Tutti Writing with Three Voices
    Lesson 27 - Pieces for Analysis
    Lesson 28 - Technique #7: Two Voices Against One
    Lesson 29- Analysis for Technique #7
    Lesson 30- Technique #8: Four Notes Against One
    Lesson 31 - Analysis for Technique #8
    Lesson 32 - Technique #9: The Ligature
    Lesson 33 - Analysis for Technique #9
    Lesson 34 - Technique #10: The Whole Pie
    Lesson 35 - Analysis for Technique #10
    Lesson 36 - Final Thoughts

    In Concert

    Listen to the music of several of Johann Fux's works as found on YouTube.


    *If you can’t see the YouTube video above, please accept cookies to view and play the video.

    Sinfonia a 4 'La cena del Signore'

    *If you can’t see the YouTube video above, please accept cookies to view and play the video.

    Suite in C Major - Entree, Rondeau

    *If you can’t see the YouTube video above, please accept cookies to view and play the video.